We need a little Christmas

Today was one of those wonderful days that happens every few weeks in which Faramir and I try to cram as many errands into as short a time as possible.  Yes, it was a Zipcar day!

First we went to our storage space to retrieve several boxes of Christmas decorations.  Storage spaces being what they are, this necessitated removing the chairs, childhood toys, end tables, and stacks of flattened cardboard boxes that were in front of the Christmas decorations, and then trying to stack everything back inside when we’d gotten what we wanted.  We then hit Target (ugh, pre-holiday Target…we got there around 9:30 a.m., so it wasn’t so bad) and a hardware store.  By then we were starving, so we stuffed ourselves full of delicious eggs and pancakes before heading to Safeway.  (We saw one of the oncology nurses at the restaurant, but felt too awkward to say hi).  Despite all this incredible efficiency, when the dust had settled and the car was returned, we realized that we still hadn’t bought a compost bin, a big sack of rice, or a mat with rubber spikes to stop Tabbouleh from hurling her body against the bedroom door when she decides it’s time for us to get up.

As we unpacked the Christmas boxes, I was surrounded by the ornaments and Nativity scenes of his childhood.  It was lovely and intimate, but a little lopsided at the same time.  The ornaments that I loved as a child are still at my parents’ house.  I realize that this is because I’m lucky enough that they’re both still living and still married to each other, and I’m not complaining exactly.  But this isn’t the first time I’ve felt somewhat overshadowed by his family’s story, to the neglect of my own.  Our little two-person family needs a few more Christmases before it really feels like ours.

Unrelatedly, this article made me simultaneously happy to be a teacher and disappointed in my current job.  That’s just not how my school thinks.  It’s increasingly important to me that I clarify my views on play and education, now that I’m no longer being indoctrinated.  Speaking of indoctrination, yesterday I actually went back through some of my Bank Street stuff for curriculum ideas.  Who’d have thunk?  All that grad school stuff might just turn out useful.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “We need a little Christmas

  1. Thanks for sharing your Christmas feelings . . .it’s always such a weird feeling to be having one’s first Christmas in a new place!

Leave a Reply

